Fullbright x Barzun x Element Youth Empowerment Health Workshops

بعد أشهر من العصف الذهني والتخطيط والعمل الشاق عقد مجلس شباب جمعية Element بالتعاون مع فولبرايت Scholar Garrett Thompson "ليلة التغذية" في مركز المجتمع الإسرائيلي الصومالي. حضر Nutrition Night أكثر من 50 الناس الذين تعلموا عن الأكل الصحي وقدمت لهم وجبة مغذية.

"كان المشروع فرصة لشبابنا للمشاركة في مجتمعاتهم المحلية بشكل جيد بالتعاون مع الجمعيات الخيرية الأخرى لدعم مستخدمي خدماتهم بشكل أفضل. كان من المذهل رؤية عدد الشباب المستعدين للتخلي عن عطلات نهاية الأسبوع ليكونوا جزءًا من شيء يفيد شخصًا آخر. أنا فخور للغاية بكل العمل الشاق الذي قاموا به لتحقيق النجاح. "

صُممت ليلة التغذية للوصول إلى واحدة من مجتمعات المهاجرين التي يصعب الوصول إليها في شيفيلد. وكان الهدف هو إشراك المرأة الصومالية في أنشطة التثقيف ذات الصلة بالتغذية. تم تمكين النساء لإجراء تغييرات صغيرة وملموسة في طهي الطعام نحو الأكل الصحي. علاوة على ذلك ، يهدف المشروع إلى تمكين مجلس الشباب بالمهارات اللازمة لإجراء تغييرات إيجابية داخل مجتمعهم.

وصل الضيوف إلى Vestry Hall يوم الأحد ، في شهر مايو 13th للعثور على القاعة الرائعة التي تم إعدادها لتناول وجبة رائعة. أثناء استمتاع الضيوف بالمعرض ، استقبلهم معرض للموارد الصحية يعمل فيه اثنان من الممارسين العامين ، وأخصائي تغذية ، وشيب شيب (منظمة صحية محلية). في حين أن الدورة الأولى كانت تخدم أعضاء مجلس الشباب وذهب الجدول إلى الجدول بصريا مظاهر محتوى السكر الموجود في المشروبات البوب ​​المشتركة. الطبق الرئيسي كان كاري الدجاج يقدم مع الأرز. كانت الوجبة مبنية على طبق تقليدي تم تعديله بتغيرات صحية. زُوِّد الضيوف بصفة وصفة لأخذها إلى المنزل والتي توضح بالتفصيل التغييرات السليمة. وأثناء الوجبة ، ألقى داني هوانغ ، طالب الدراسات العليا والطبيب في جامعة شيفيلد ، محادثة تفاعلية حول تأثيرات الدهون على الصحة. لتشجيع تغيير السلوك ، أخذ الضيوف المنزل زجاجات رذاذ النفط. وقد أظهرت زجاجات الرش للحد من استخدام الزيت في الطهي.

حتى أعضاء مجلس الشباب أنفسهم تعلموا عن الأكل الصحي.

"هناك طرق بديلة لتناول الطعام لذيذة ومفيدة لصحتك" - Aisah ، عضو مجلس الشباب

كان مجلس الشباب مشاركًا بشكل وثيق في جميع مراحل هذا المشروع منذ إنشائه إلى العمل في الحدث نفسه. كانوا يعتقدون أن المشروع كان وسيلة قوية لإظهار أن الشباب قادرون على إحداث التغيير. يجب أن يكون هذا الموقف مثالاً يحتذى به جميع الشباب.

عندما سئلوا عن سبب مشاركتهم في هذا المشروع ، أفاد أعضاء مجلس الشباب بأن إحداث فرق في مجتمعهم أمر حيوي.

"التطوع في المجتمع مهم لأنه يصور الوحدة" - عيسه ، عضو مجلس الشباب

"إن التطوع يساعد المجتمع بشكل كبير ، دون أن يكون مكلفًا. إذا تطوع عدد أكبر من الناس ، يمكننا أن نجعل المزيد والمزيد من الأمور ممكنة ”

"من الممتع مساعدة الآخرين المحتاجين" Wayne ، عضو في Youthboard.

غاريت طومسون (أقصى اليسار) يتلقى تمويلاً من سفير الولايات المتحدة السابق في المملكة المتحدة ، ماثيو بارزون (وسط)

أعضاء مجلس الشباب يوزعون ملصقات في المجتمع

لقد تم دفع العمل الشاق والتفاني من مجلس الشباب. أفاد الحاضرون في ليلة التغذية بردود فعل إيجابية بشكل ملحوظ وطلبوا أحداثاً مماثلة في المستقبل. وعموما كانت التجربة مجزية للغاية لمجلس الشباب. أظهروا أن الشباب يمكن أن يكون لها تأثير إيجابي على مجتمعهم وتعلم شيء في هذه العملية.

"لقد كانت تجربة مجزية حقا للعمل مع مجموعة من الشباب المتحمسين جدا لإحداث تغيير إيجابي. خلال فترة المشروع ، تمكنت من رؤية نمو أعضاء مجلس الشباب الشخصي أثناء تعاملهم مع مجتمعهم ومعالجة القضايا الصعبة. يعمل مجلس شباب Element كمصدر إلهام في جميع أنحاء Sheffield يذكر الجميع بأن الشباب يمكن أن يحققوا ما لا يصدق "- غاريت تومبسون ، منحة فولبرايت وقيادة المشروع

وقد تم توفير القيادة لهذا الحدث من قبل غاريت تومبسون الباحث في برنامج فولبرايت الذي يسعى للحصول على ميل بالساعة في جامعة شيفيلد بالتعاون مع فريق من طلاب جامعة شيفيلد بما في ذلك أوليفر تايلور وآني هوانغ وأندريا فيلار ومريم شفيق وكارلا تارازونا. تم تقديم التمويل من قبل ماثيو بارزون ، السفير الأمريكي السابق في المملكة المتحدة. هدف رؤية برزون هو إشراك الشباب عبر الثقافات داخل مجتمعاتهم.

فئات:

مجتمع

أترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

جمعية العنصر

Fullbright x Barzun x Element Youth Empowerment Health Workshops

After months of brainstorming, planning, and hard work Element Society’s Youth Board in conjunction with Fulbright Scholar Garrett Thompson held “Nutrition Night” at the Israac Somali Community Centre. Nutrition Night was attended by over 50 people who learned about healthy eating and were provided with a nutritious meal.

“The project was an opportunity for our young people to get involved in their local communityas well as collaborate with other charities to better support their service users. It was incredible to see how many young people are willing to give up their weekends to be a part of something that benefits someone else. I’m very proud of all the hard work they have put in to make it a success.”

Nutrition Night was designed to reach one of Sheffield’s hard to reach immigrant communities. The goal was to engage Somali women in nutrition-related education activities. The women were empowered to make small and tangible changes in their cooking towards healthier eating. Furthermore, the project aimed to empower the Youth Board with skills needed to make positive changes within their community.

Guests arrived at Vestry Hall on Sunday, May 13th to find the great hall set up for an amazing meal. As guests walked in they were greeted by a health resource fair staffed by two general practitioners, a nutritionist, and ShipShape (a local wellbeing organization). While the first course was served members of the Youth Board went table to table visually demonstrating sugar content found in common pop drinks. The main course was chicken curry served with rice. The meal was based off a traditional dish which was modified with healthy changes. Guests were provided with a recipe sheet to take home which detailed the healthy changes. During the meal, University of Sheffield graduate student and general practitioner, Anny Huang, gave an interactive talk on the effects of fats on health. To encourage behaviour change, guests took home oil spray bottles. Spray bottles have been shown to reduce oil usage in cooking.

Even Youth Board members themselves learned about healthy eating.

“there’s alternate ways of eating which are tasty and beneficial for your health” – Aisah, Youth Board member

The Youth Board was intimately involved in all stages of this project from its creation to working at the event itself. They believed the project was a powerful way to show that young people are capable of creating change. This attitude should set the example for all young people to follow.

When asked why they got involved with this project Youth Board members reported that making a difference in their community was vital.

“Volunteering in the community important  because it portrays unity” – Aisah, Youth Board Member

“Volunteering helps the community greatly, without being costly. If more people volunteered we could make more and more things possible.” Tashinga, Youth Board member

“It is fun to help others in need” Wayne, Youthboard member.

Garrett Thompson (far left) receiving funding from former US ambassador to the UK, Matthew Barzun, (centre)

Youth Board members distributing posters in the community

The Youth Board’s hard work and dedication paid off. Attendees to nutrition night reported remarkably positive feedback and asked for similar events in the future. Overall the experience was very rewarding for the youth board. They demonstrated that young people can make a positive impact on their community and learn something in the process.

“It was a truly rewarding experience to work with a group of young people so passionate about creating positive change. Over the course of the project, I was able to see the Youth Board members personal growth as they engaged with their community and tackled challenging issues. The Element Youth Board serves as an inspiration across Sheffield reminding everyone that young people can achieve the unbelievable” – Garrett Thompson, Fulbright Scholar and project lead

Leadership for this event was provided by Garrett Thompson a Fulbright Scholar who is pursuing an MPH at the University of Sheffield in conjunction with a  team of Sheffield University students including Oliver Taylor, Anny Huang, Andrea Villar, Mariam Shafiek, and Carla Tarazona. Funding was given by Matthew Barzun the former US ambassador to UK. Barzun’s vision aim is to engage young people cross-culturally within their communities.

 

Categories:

Society

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Element Society